This Report is dedicated to the memory of John H. Dunning

## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

The World Investment Report 2009 (WIR09) was prepared by a team led by Anne Miroux and Masataka Fujita, with Hafiz Mirza and Joachim Karl responsible for Part Two. James Zhan provided overall guidance and direction. The team included Kumi Endo, Thomas van Giffen, Michael Hanni, Fabrice Hatem, Kálmán Kalotay, Ralf Krüger, Guoyong Liang, Padma Mallampally, Nicole Moussa, Abraham Negash, Hilary Nwokeabia, Shin Ohinata, Thomas Pollan, Astrit Sulstarova, Yunsung Tark and Kee Hwee Wee. Kiyoshi Adachi, Bekele Amare, Quentin Dupriez, Hamed El-Kady, Kornel Mahlstein, Nicole Maldonado, Sara Tougard de Boismilon, Elisabeth Tuerk and Jörg Weber also contributed to the Report. Research and statistical support was provided by Mohamed Chiraz Baly, Bradley Boicourt, Jovan Licina, Lizanne Martinez and Tadelle Taye. Ngoc Hanh Dang, Shan He, Cristina Insuratelu, Mari Mo and Tom Van Herk assisted as interns at various stages. Production of the WIR09 was carried out by Séverine Excoffier, Rosalina Goyena, Chantal Rakotondrainibe and Katia Vieu. It was edited by Praveen Bhalla and desktop published by Teresita Ventura.

Peter J. Buckley and John H. Dunning served as senior economic advisers to the Report. John H. Dunning sadly passed away in January 2009 and this year's Report is dedicated to his memory. He was involved in the conception and realization of the *World Investment Reports* from the beginning, and during succeeding years played a significant role in their evolution, all the while providing guidance and advice on substantive issues related to research themes and analytical approaches. He acted – where appropriate – as a mentor to many members of the *WIR* team. His wisdom, valued advice and enthusiasm will be missed.

WIR09 benefited from comments provided by participants at a brainstorming meeting in Geneva in October 2008, an ad-hoc expert meeting in Geneva in February 2009, a global seminar in Geneva in May 2009, and three regional seminars on TNCs and agriculture held in April 2009: one in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia (in cooperation with Addis Ababa University), a second one in São Paulo, Brazil (in cooperation with Fundação Dom Cabral and FEARP, São Paulo University), and a third one in Tianjin, China (in cooperation with the Ministry of Commerce of China and Tianjin Municipality).

Inputs were received from Katrin Arnold, Carlos Arruda, Antonio Flavio Dias Avila, Samuel Asuming-Brempong, Jeremy Clegg, Olivier De Schutter, Persephone Economou, Nasredin Hag Elamin, Fulvia Farinelli, David Hallam, Spencer Henson, Christine Heumesser, Thomas Jost, John Humphrey, Annabel Ipsen, Irina Likhachova, George K. Lipimile, Asad Naqvi, Jeffrey Neilson, Marcos Fava Neves, Frances Nsonzi, Ralf Peters, Luke Peterson, Rebecca Poste, Bill Pritchard, José Parra, Sebastián Senesi, Erwin Schmid, Nicole Simes, Eckart Woertz and Zbigniew Zimny.

Comments and suggestions were received during various stages of preparation from Oluyele Akinkugbe, Rashmi Banga, Peter Baron, Dirk Michael Boehe, Joachim von Braun, Aurelia Calabro, Gloria Carrión, Chantal Chan-Yone, Milasoa Cherel-Robson, Junior Roy Davis, Mamadou Diallo, Martine Dirven, Chantal Dupasquier, Julian Ferdinand, Niels Fold, Torbjörn Fredriksson, Daniel Fuentes, Samuel Gayi, Shunqi Ge, Stephen Gelb, Gary Gereffi, Juliana Gonsalves, Zoe Goodman, Frea Haandrikman, Ute Hausmann, Jonathan Hepburn, Hayley Herman, Ulrich Hoffmann, Gábor Hunya, Moses Ikiara, Nipon Jayamangkala, Anna Joubin-Bret, Mpenga Kabundi, Raphael Kaplinsky, Yong-taek Kim, David King, Harinder Kohli, Hussien Hamda Komicha, Surendra Kotecha, Ronglin Li, Yong Li, Pascal Liu, Marinella Loddo, Jeffrey Lowe, Sarianna Lundan, George Mashinkila, Xinyu Mei, José Otavio Menten, Bruno Varella Miranda, Maiko Miyake, Elibaraki Emmanuel Msuya, Peter Muchlinski, Fiorina Mugione, Irene Musselli, Sanusha Naidu, Jean Ndenzako, Herbert Oberhänsli, Jean-François

Outreville, Terutomo Ozawa, Sheila Page, Xavier Manoel Pedrosa, Mike Pfister, Guoqiang Qi, Ruth Rama, Carlos Razo, Ian Richards, Raissa Rossiter, Maria Sylvia Macchione Saes, Leonela Santana-Boado, Michel Henrique R. Santos, Takanori Satoyama, Karl P. Sauvant, Josef Schmidhuber, Xiaofang Shen, Xiaokai Shen, Silas Cezar da Silva, Carin Smaller, Benjamin Smith, Eduardo Leão Sousa, Xuekun Sun, Zhishao Tang, Márcia Tavares, Harmon Thomas, Andrew Thorburn, Guiming Tian, David Tommy, Selma Tozanli, Truong Thi Thu Trang, Rob van Tulder, Peter Utting, Aimable Uwizeye Mapendano, Sietze Vellema, Luiz Carlos Vieira, Paul Wessendorp, Obi Whichard, Susanna Wolf, Larry Chee-Yoong Wong, Zongdi Wu, Stephen Young and Fabiano José Zillo.

Numerous officials of central banks, statistical offices, investment promotion and other government agencies, and officials of international organizations and non-governmental organizations, as well as executives of a number of companies also contributed to *WIR09*, especially with the provision of data and other information. The Report also benefited from collaboration with Erasmus University, Rotterdam, in the collection of data on the largest 100 TNCs.

The financial support of the Governments of France, Norway and Sweden is gratefully acknowledged.